"The most ideal path for a society to set up its youngsters for positions of authority in government, industry, or different fields is by imparting in them a feeling of collaboration, not rivalry. "

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The argument given touches on a widely debated topic that has cast a profound shadow on the history of mankind. History has been witness to how rivalry gave way to competition, how competition gave way to wars, and how wars resulted in ill-will and bloodshed. Yet it has been the competitiveness of humans of that has fuelled progress of mankind and advances in technology. It is competition and friendly rivalry that brings out the best in a person. But it is important to harbour rivalry without ill-will, to not make the rival an enemy, to collaborate yet compete.

Success of a group of individuals is a dish that needs collaboration and rivalry both to make it palatable. If the balance goes off, we see failure and ill will. Let me illustrate. Consider two students preparing for a competitive exam granting admissions to prestigious schools. The exam is tough, the preparation a hard going. Doing it alone would require a mountain of will and bagful of perseverance. However, if they decide to study together, to discuss, to collaborate, they would feel less alone and more motivated. They would seek validation of their efforts by trying to beat their teammate, and in turn redouble their efforts, thus boosting the chances of success. Thus, collaboration and rivalry are inherently two sides of the same coin.

The reason democracy has been such a success worldwide is that now prospective rulers engage in a rivalry of policies, propaganda and wooing the masses. Politicians know that to beat their rival, they need to really see things from the people's viewpoint. Of course, it has not been so simple, but yes, fundamentally that is what democracy is about. Individuals of different ideologies clash, while in the end still collaborating to govern the country. This is a gross simplification, and democracy has its share of problems. But democracy is the perfect example of collaboration twining with rivalry.

In conclusion, I would like to point that the argument given only takes in one aspect of the issue in consideration, while missing the bigger picture. Rivalry if kept in its limits enhances collaboration and eventual success. Rivalry left unchecked leads to breakdown of collaboration and leads to a disaster. It is a thin ice, that needs to be negotiated prudently.