Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The following appeared in a memo from a Vice President of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago, our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different companies - Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. In addition, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Given these data, plus the fact that Zeta has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, we recommend using Zeta rather than Alpha for our new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs.

The Vice President came to a conclusion that the company should prefer Zeta rather than Alpha, despite Alpha promising lesser construction costs. This conclusion seems to be drawn hastily in my opinion. Mr. Vice President has based his decision on data that leaves a lot of questions unanswered.

Firstly, one may enquire of the climate of the two regions in which the two buildings are located, since that plays a significant role in the energy consumption. What if the Alpha building is situated in a region that has soaring temperatures? Naturally, the building would drink more energy in air conditioning and cooling compared to

Zeta, especially if Zeta has a more mellow climate. Thus, climate of the two regions need to be taken into account before we decide anything.

Also, one might ask about the employee count and the infrastructure in the two buildings. Are they identical or similar in both? What if Alpha building has more people working in it because the region it is situated in is more populous requiring greater workforce? That would mean, more computers, more occupied office rooms, more electricity consumptions and hence greater energy consumption.

Is the equipment in both buildings identical? Some elevators consume more than others. Some computer types

are less efficient than others. This would also lead to energy consumption disparity. The difference in the technology such as elevators, fans, electricity wiring and not necessary building construction material can lead to higher maintenance costs in the Alpha building. Does one can ask for a distribution of the maintenance costs in both buildings to know precisely what is being repaired more frequently. Also, do the maintenance expense depend on the region? A part or equipment might be costing more in the Alpha building region than in the Zeta building region, naturally inflating the maintenance expense in the former.

Thus, a lot of questions need to be answered by Mr. Vice President before his decision can sound convincing. Choosing the right company for building construction is a tough decision involving a lot of parameters raising a myriad different questions.