Company X has just switched to a four-day workweek, mandating that employees work ten hours per day from Monday to Thursday instead of eight hours per day from Monday to Friday. Although the policy is new, Company X claims that the policy will help to increase profits by shutting down offices on Fridays and to boost employee morale by reducing commuting time to and from work each week.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The company X has made a claim that by switching to a 4-day work week, and closing offices on Friday, the company will make increased profits, however, this is a big jump to make. To conclusively realise the impact of work week versus profits, we need to understand if the two are correlated. If company X, has historically proven data, that the company’s profits are mostly made within the 4 days of the work week, and the reduction in operational costs of shutting the office on Friday, will help the company in seeing increased profits, it will strengthen the claim. In proving this, Company X should adress, the type of business industry as well, because companies in the recreation industry might turn greater profits on days like Friday. And such profits may not be compensated only by determining the operational/infrastructure costs of shutting down on Friday. As opposed to trading companies, which might be still better suited to benefit from a four-day work week.

Another assumption, that Company X has made is, by reducing the commute time to and and from work, employee morale will be boosted. However, to truly support this argument, we need to understand whether the commute is a significant issue for the employees. If employees of Company X are all closely located to the company, and consider travel to office, as a part of a healthy walk regimen, then the entire assumption of boosting morale breaks. Instead the company has now reduced a physical activity from the lives of employees, which they valued.

The company has assumed that the increase in work hours from 8 to 10, will not be a significant burden for employees, as long as they are getting an off on Friday. Depending on the industry of Company X, ranging from physical to mental spectrum, it should be evaluated what are the impacts of a 10 hour shift on the productivity of employees. Studies have shown that for mentally intensive tasks, humans can work in a state of deep focus for around 5-6 hours, and remaining 2 hours of an 8 hour shift, are generally booked for less intensive tasks. However if we find the Company X is very well positioned between mental and physical task spectrum, it can benefit from a 10 hour long shift, by providing a sufficient break for its employees, to achieve both kind of tasks: mental and physical.

It is also unstated by Company X, but an assumption nonetheless, that the way to boost morale and cutting down commute is achievable only by the 4 day work week. Whereas there may be other policies such as Working Remotely which may solve the problems of commute, morale and yet allow company to turn profits. In the post-COVID era, working remotely is definetely more accessible than ever before, and company X might be benefit from evaluating such alternatives.

Company X should support the claims they have made, by sharing some data points, on how they reached to the conclusion of profits, and morale and whether the data is significant statistically or truly representative of interests of the company and its employees. If Company X can answer the open questions such as if shutting down of office will create a profit by saving infrastructure costs, a 10 hour per day shift does not impact employee productivity owing to company’s industry, and reduction in commute time will be a morale booster, then it’s policy will be a welcome one and both employees and owners can be confident in adopting the same.