People should question the rules of authority as opposed to accepting them passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the reasons for which the statement may or may not be true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The purpose of any authority, unless it has been built with the goal of suppression as in the regime of Hitler, is to allow an environment where the people thrive, and succeed. No authority structure, is built with the concept of suffocating the thoughts and opinions of people, and their basic human rights such as Freedom of Speech, thought and expression. Hence, it is a necessity that for the standard or rule being set impacting the people it governs, people should come up and question those rules. The outcome of those questions, can be varying from building positive reinforcement, to discovering a necessity for change in the rules, but we will never be able to find out the success or failure of them, without asking these questions.

As a person, who falls under several different kind of authoritative bodies, such as the government, authority of the company we work for, authority of the educational institute we attend, we will come across several rules. We have the choice, to question those rules or blindly follow the provided path. However in taking the route of complete silence, we are in fact making another subconscious choice, which is to allow other people to take charge of direction our lives take. This can be pernicious to our own growth within the system, because we may not even understand the implications of our passive decisions. Asking questions helps us improve our understanding of the rules set by the authority and does make our actions more mindful. For e.g.: Multiple educational institutions enforce a rule of 75% attendance of classes. Several students might be dissatisfied with this policy, but they should ask the question, of why the policy was set in place. The motivation of institutions behind this policy, is to ensure that students have active and passive learning by interacting with students, professors and exploring culture within the educational system. But by not asking this question, students may passively accept the rule, be dissatisfied about the same and not enjoy the benefits which such classroom interactions can bring.

The act of asking questions to people in place of authority, also creates the impact, of becoming a feedback loop for the policy makers. When the citizens ask questions, the authority is provided with a chance to understand and answer the questions from the people, and by doing this they also see the concerns which the people may have and address those either in the form of amendment to policy, or via more open communicative forums. For e.g. Policy of Brexit in England, was a policy from authority, which was opened to the citizens of the country. The citizens understood the policy, shaped this knowledge by asking questions and finally the government proceeded with the decision. However in opposite example, telecom companies in India started a drive to link phone number to national identifiers mandatorily, and the people questioned this policy with privacy concerns, and it was declared to be a non-mandatory policy.

It may be argued, however, that certain situations demand a passive acceptance from the people, because if the people start asking questions of their authority it can lead to chaos, rebellion and possibly violence. For e.g. In constructs like the Army, being a maverick is usually not valued, because in high pressure situations of war, having ten different opinions, can lead to loss of life. In such scenarios, when the stakes are high, and success of the construct depends on the unity between the authority and the people, rules should be accepted, given you have the channel to voice your opinions, in different forums.

In conclusion, questions are not a thorn to be avoided, they are just a part of the learning curve. We should encourage culture of questioning the rules of authority because it allows people, to take charge of their lives, understand rules better, provide a mechanism for feedback and allow authorities to hear the voice of the people. However in situations where the functioning of the body depends on the unity of the people and its authority, it is acceptable to be a passive observer, but when possible, share your opinion/feedback.