People should question the rules of authority as opposed to accepting them passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the reasons for which the statement may or may not be true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In today’s modern world, where most of the countries are enjoying the liberaties and rights provided by democracy, peoplt should definetly question the rules of authority rather then simply accepting the decision passively. As a fundamentals of democracy, people of a nation elect their government and it well within their rights to question the decisions of the government. What good of a democracy is if the representative of people itslef is not answering to its people. The intent of questioning the governement is not to undermine their policies or decisions, but to make them more tailoreed to the needs of the common people. This further bolster the root of democracy in the country.

The basic 3 rules of fairly-elected democratic government is a t government : o the people, for the people and by the people. The part ‘for the people’ is clearly meant to provide a fair chance question each and every policies and decisions taken by the government. This allows the governments to be in check and answerable to people. As a citizen of the country and diligents tax payers it is our right to question that wheter the policies which are being formed are they favourable to us, is our money being used for fair and justified purpose. We as the citizen have the power to drive the course of policy making the ruling parties. We can drive to make policies for better infrastructure, better hospitals or better education. Keeping a government answerable to us, keeps them on the right track of thinking for betterment of the people.

These check and question are also necessary to keep the social evil of corruption away. History is the evidence, that many countries where government where not in check have turned from democracy to autocracy. As an instance, few decades back Pakistan during the tenure of their president at that time, Mr. Parvez Musaraf, they had to go through same course. The people did not keep a proper check on policies of government and as a result, military overtook the country, and the country had to go through a tragic phase. Although, democracy was restored but this incident clearly pushed back the progrss of the country to several yet. Pakistan is not the only example, same kind of situtation happended in Iraq, which eventualy led to very unfortuante state of extreme terrorism.

Although, keeping a check on policies of government is important but at the same time we should make sure that opposition parties are not misusing this fundamental right for their benefit. A necessary and vigilant check should be in place to make sure opposition is not throttling the ruling party’s action plan in extreme debatres and political conundrums. To make sure this is not the case, the oppositon should also be under consistent questioning along with the ruling party. Their should be a proper time frame to do all kind of questioning and beyond which the agreed upon plan should be implemented, so that its not all just talk and some real progress is taking place as well.

In a nutshell, in order to keep a nation’s growth on right track, in order to align it with aspiration of its majority of population, questioning the policies of the government is extremely important rather then simply accepting them paasively. At the same time it should be make sure that oppostion does not misuse this important power and also allows the ruling parties to take actions as well rather then just discussions and dileberations.