Since a competing lower-priced newspaper, The Bugle, was started five years ago, The Mercury’s circulation has declined by 10,000 readers. The best way to get more people to read The Mercury is to reduce its price below that of The Bugle, at least until circulation increases to former levels. The increased circulation of The Mercury will attract more businesses to buy advertising space in the paper

The above recommendation is presented by an employee of The mercury in which he mentioned that lowering the price of the paper would help The mercury reclaim its share in the number of readers in that region and would also attract more businesses to buy advertising space in their paper. Though this argument looks like a well designed plan, upon closer examination we find that it has many flaws ans assumptions that could turn out to be false.

Firstly, there is no mention of the changes in total number of people using newspaper as a mode of information. The change in total number of people who still prefer newspaper would show if people still consider as their primary source of information or if they have migrated to other sources such as the internet or mobile applications. Along with this, there is no mention of the changes in reader numbers in other competitors.if provided, comparing the numbers the would be a useful metric before taking a critical decision as presented to us in the argument.

Furthermore, there is no mention about the marketing spend the organisation does to attract new customers. The marketing spend when compared to the amount spent by competitors would give us critical insight if the organisation is falling behind in marketing itself and attract new customers. So before taking a decision on reducing the prices, the marketing spend must also be looked at.

Last but the most important flaw in the argument would be to expect more businesses to buy advertising space in the newspaper. we do not know if businesses still consider newspaper as the primary source of advertisement anymore with the advent of the internet and other digital sources such as mobile applications. The newer modes of advertisement can also relay the information about their product in video while it is not possible in newspapers. Ignoring such an important detail and building a business which includes this high degree of uncertainty would only lead to the collapse of the organisation in long run.

To close, the argument seems to be built upon not factors that involve a high amount of uncertainty and this shows us that they have not been studied properly. A comprehensive study of all the factors involved in a business needs to be done before key decisions can be taken as these decisions are very important for the organisation's survival.