The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

The given argument states that the country's strength is based on how strong its borders are against illegal immigration and that illegal immigration poses a threat to the economy and cultural identity of the country. though there is some credit to the what the argument states there are some flaws to it.

Firstly, the author assumes that a country is only as strong as its borders. though a country needs to be strong along its borders its main strength would lie in how well it is being governed. More than the strength on the borders, the policies the country adopts would help us determine its strength. If the government of the country takes decisions that would hamper the lives of its citizens, the strength along the borders would not be of much help.

Furthermore, the author states that the illegal immigrants pose a threat to the economy and identity of the country. But this might not always be the case as the immigrants could bring in new skills that were not present in the country before and this could lead to establishment of industries that were not present int he country before. Thus they could also help the economy and might also bring up the standard of living of the citizens off the country.

In addition to that,it is stated that immigrants are threat to the country. that may not always be true as the immigrants may have tried leaving their own country due the political instability or civil war like conditions present there and as they might have wanted to ensure the safety of their future generations. In this case, efforts to send them back to their countries would prove us to be inhuman on a global perspective and this could hamper the relations of the country with other nations.

In conclusion, the argument provided does not give us answers to all the underlying question that arise due to the is argument and more information is required before we can take a stand aligning with it.