The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The council claims that if the proposed measure passed, it will result in significant increase in housing prices in Maple County. To support the conclusion, the council cites various evidences such as the condition of Pine county. Although these evidences appear to bolster the author's argument, a meticulous analysis will show otherwise. So the author needs to cite the following specific evidences to make the argument more sound.

First, the Council assumes that if the housing price in Pine County increased by more that double in last 15 years, similar will happen to the Maple County. Perhaps, the condition in Pine County and Maple County are fundamentally different. Possibly the situation in Maple Country is more like Chestnut County, then it is more likely that even if the proposed measure passed, the housing price in Maple County will not increase considerably. Hence, without being aware of the structure of the Maple County, it would be unscrupulous to make Council's conclusion.

Secondly, the council assumes that the population of the Maple County is high so that if the proposed measure passed, it will lead to increase in housing price. Possibly, the population of the Maple County is decreasing, if this was the case, then even when the measures are passed, it will lead no significant increment in housing price.

In conclusion, it is possible that if the proposed measure passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple Country. However, as it stands now, the argument relies on two unfounded assumptions that render the argument unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. Thus, the author needs to provide additional evidences on above two fronts.