The council of Maple County concerned about the county s becoming overdeveloped is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county But the council is also concerned that such a restriction by limiting

There is a significant debate on the city council of Maple county, regarding ban on developing city towards existing farmland in the county. At the end, council has predicted that such ban will sginificantly increase housing prices in maple county, comparing examples of chestnut and pine county. However, there is dire need of further research regarding relation of such ban with increased housing prices for following reasons.

Firstly, the council fails to consider that rise in housing prices can have several reasons. Growth of city due to migration or natural process, development of suburbs around the city, inflation, income status of the city dwellers, industrial growth around the city can be some of the major factors. For instance, migration from nearby cities or villages can boom the demand for housing and hence inflate housing prices, while migration from the city to other cities can leave houses empty and decrease prices. In some extreme cases, houses can be available for free. Similarly, decreased birth rate in past decades can eventually decrease housing price significantly, sometimes rendering some housings free of cost in extreme case we had seen in Japan. However, the city council is deciding "ban on growth of city" as sole factor behind such growth of housing prices. City council should first answer the question "Is ban on city growth a single factor behind increased property price?" before reaching on conclusion.

Council had studied example of pine county, but still fails to consider that the rise in price of city is not so extreme. Rise of property value by 5-7% per annum can result in doubling of property value in fifteen years period. This is still less than inflation in most of the cities if compared. Further, pine county has banned development of new residential housing, even within the then range of city. Maple council's decision is planning to prevent expansion of city, while allowing new housings in previous range of city. thus, example of pine county does not seem to fit the current scenario. This should be considered.

Further, The example of chestnut county is overlooked. The city council fails to consider whether chestnut county is similar to maple county or not and the time frame of consideration also seems long enough to see viable results. Yes, there can be other reasons behind stagnation of property prices, but these should first be analyzed before decision. The city council is supposed to consider this example while deciding whether or not to ban growth of city.

In this way, the city council of maple city seems hasty in deciding not to ban growth of city in farmland. the council should analyzed abovemntioned points while deciding about ban of city growth outside current range based on the results of analysis.