The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

The argument is based on an assessment of a proposal by the council of Maple County about preventing the development of existing farmland in the county. The council predicts that the proposal might increase the price of the houses due to this restriction. The author cites evidences such as the outcome of similar measures taken by Chestnut county and Pine County to support the argument. However, as it stands now the prediction of the council is based on three unwarranted assumptions that diminish the credibility of the proposal.

In the first place, the council has considered the reference of Chestnut County who took similar measure ten years ago and no significant effect on the prices of the housing was observed there. Comparing Maple County and Chestnut County on the same ground is based on the assumption that both of the counties have similar population growth, development, facilities, farmland etc. For instance, Chestnut County might be an underdeveloped area where the price of the houses remained stable. It is less likely to keep the housing prices same in a ten year period if the growth of an area is positive. In addition, the population in Chestnut County might be a lot less than Maple County. That’s why, restriction of housing might have less effect on its price. If any of the evidences prove to be true, the prediction of the council will be disproved.

Secondly, the opponents of the proposal cited that Pine County faced consequences due to the restriction of residential housing which resulted in doubling the price. The opponents are citing their view based on the assumption that the inflation rate remained stable in the fifteen years in Pine County. As we know, from time to time, cost of things go high because of increased inflation and housing is not excluded from that. So its is completely normal that the averages prices of everything will increase. On the other hand, population growth rate in Pine county might be small compared to other areas which is why increased members of the society faced scarcity of housing. If any of the scenarios turn out to be true, the council’s prediction will be weakened.

Finally, the council of Maple County cites the consequence of the restrictive measure similar to Pine County without citing any reasoning.The council didn’t provide any logical similarities in the situation of the two areas. On the other hand, the council didn’t specify the need of the farmland in the Maple County. It might be less dependent of farming and more dependent on infrastructural development. In that case, the restriction can be a hindrance to the development rather than helping it.

Hence, the council’s prediction is based on some assumptions and they have failed to provide any concrete evidence to establish that. The council of Maple County should have analyzed the current population growth, development rate, farmland requirements etc first and then compare the situation with the other two counties based on these. In addition, other detailed information and data analysis need to done to come to a reasonable prediction.