The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction. While it may be true that if the Council of Maple County restrict the development of existing farmland, it will not increase the housing prices that much; however, the arguer does not make a cogent case. It is easy to understand that the similar results of modestly increase in housing may come out like Chestnut County or the similar results of significant increase of housing price may come out like Pine County. However, the arguer needs verifiable evidences to prove this recommendation for Maple County.

First of all, the arguer mentions that restriction of supplies of new housing is going to prevent overdevelopment of farmland in the county. But the author does not provide ant statistic numbers for Maple county. There is no information about the numbers of existing houses and the total number of population of residents in Maple County every year. It is possible that there are already many houses in Maple County, so there is no extra lands to build new houses. In addition, there should be reports about age, gender, and number of residents in Maple County every year because it can indicate if the population is rising or declining.

Additionally, the arguer compares the housing prices in two different counties with Maple County that does not make sense. The author states that restriction of new housing supplies did not increase the housing price in the Chestnut County, but the same plan caused the significant increase in housing prices in the Pine County. Definitely there are many differences between Chestnut and Pine counties that is important to pay attention. For example, the farmland in Pine County may be much smaller than the farmland in Chesnut County. As a result, the price of housing supplies will increase much higher than Pine County.

Last but not least, the author compares two counties in two different times which is not logical.

The author can prove the suggestion when he/she gathers information about total population and number of housing in Maple county and similarities and differences between Pine and Chestnut counties. After answering theses questions, the Council of Maple County can make such a conclusion.