The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The council of Maple County, concerned about county’s becoming overdeveloped and proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland by limiting the supply of new housing will eventually increase the price of housing in county. This statement of increasing the price of housing in the county is made by studying the result of Chestnut County which establish similar kind of pattern a decade ago. On the other hand Pine County adopted same pattern fifteen years ago which lead to increase the price rate of housing. However, before this recommendation can be evaluated, some question need to answer.

To begin with, what was the population of Chestnut County ten years ago? Because, population plays very important role in such situations. Maybe at that point population was less so that area was not fully develop and as the population was less, so its progressing rate is also slow which lead to modest change in the price of housing by now. Whereas assuming that, the population of Pine County was more fifteen years ago and it was totally develop area so more and more people were migrating to that place which results in increasing the price of housing by now. If we assume that population of Maple County is moderate compare to other two than there will be no drastic change in price of housing after few years.

In addition, what was the size of the Chestnut and Pine County when these measures were taken? Maybe, the size of Chestnut County (area wise) was more than Pine County so housing was not the issue for Chestnut County so their housing rate has increased modestly since. Whereas on other hand size of Pine County was less (area wise) so there was drastic increase in housing rate in last fifteen years. If either of this scenarios are true than we cannot compare these two Counties until or unless Maple County’s size is similar to any of those two mention above.

In conclusion, we cannot assume that the result of limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. If we get more evidence and answer to above question considering all those points mentioned than this measure can be overlooked.