In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said that they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Waymarsh was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading habits.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It is stated in the passage that, according to first study reading habit of Waymarsh Citizen is literary classic but another study shows that their reading habit is mystery novel. So study which was carried out for the first time misrepresented their reading habits. However before jumping to conclusion some question must be answer.

To begin with, when was the first study conducted? Or how much time difference is between first study and second study? Maybe there was a huge gap between two studies which may have change the overview of the Waymarsh Citizen over reading habit. If this is true then it is blatant that result of two studies conducted over their reading habit will differ. Maybe, Citizen must have got bored with same type of content over a time and when they change their reading habit that time second study was conduct in this case it is plausible to see two different results of two different studies conducted. If this happens to be true then conclusion drawn is dubious and does not hold any water.

Moreover, how many people were included in first survey and second survey? Or what was the population of that city when first survey was conducted? Maybe in first surveys many people were not considered as compare to second survey or vice versa. If this is true then it’s blatant that result will differ and study on both surveys will be incorrect. Maybe population of that city when first study was conducted was less and many literary classic lovers were their but as the population burgeon many mystery lovers increases which change the rating in second study. If this happens to be true then conclusion drawn in the passage seems to be attenuate and it can be benighted.

Finally, what is the possibility that second study result is accurate or correct? Maybe first study result is more accurate then the second study result. If this is true then it is not apt to say that first study results were misrepresented. People may not have bolster to study which was carried out at the second time which may have change the result. If this happens to be true then conclusion drawn is false and not apt.

In conclusion, evidence provided by the arguer, that support his claim, are dubious as well as erroneous. If all the questions are answer and more evidences are provided then it will strengthen the argument.