The Cumquat Cafe began advertising on our local radio station this year and was delighted to see its business increase by 10 percent over last year s totals Their success shows you how you can use radio advertising to make your business more profitabl

The argument claims that businesses can increase their profitability by advertising on a local radio station. The line of reasoning is that the Cumquat Café has placed advertisements on the local radio station this year and as a result the Café increased its business by 10 percent last year. Stated in this way, the argument manipulates facts and conveys a distorted view of the situation. In addition, the argument reveals examples of a leap of faith, ill-defined terminology and poor reasoning. The conclusion of the argument relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. Hence, the argument is unconvincing and has several flaws.

First, the argument readily assumes that the 10 percent increase in Cumquat’s business last year was because of the radio advertisements from this year. This statement is misleading and insufficient in two ways. On the one hand, the argument does not provide supporting data, that the 10 percent increase is only because of the radio advertisements. For example, the increase could also be because of other factors such as great customer service or the offering of high-quality food. On the other hand, the 10 percent business increase cannot result from the advertising on the local radio station, since Cumquat Café has started advertising this year and the 10 percent business increase was last year. Therefore, and while the argument does not show further data, the source of the 1 percent business increase remains unknown. The argument could have been much clearer if it had provided further supporting data for its claim.

Second, the argument presumes that the advertising success of the Cumquat Café is transferrable to any other business. This is again a very weak and unconvincing statement as the argument does not demonstrate any correlation between Cumquat Café and other businesses. To illustrate, Cumquat Café could have unique characteristic, which lead to radio as the best marketing channel. Clearly, a manufacturing business would use a different marketing channel, since its customer base is usually not accessible by radio. Instead, it would probably use advertising in a trade journal.

Finally, the argument concludes that radio advertisement would make a business more profitable. From this statement again, it is not clear at all whether radio advertisement is really the holy grail. The argument misses several other factors, which influence the profitability of a business, such as the product margin, the capital expenditures or its interest payments. Furthermore, the conclusion suffers from the circumstance that it is not proven that Cumquat’s 10 percent business increase is only because of the radio advertisements and not because of unique Cumquat characteristics. Therefore, and without answers to these questions, one is left with the impression that the argument is more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons. In the absence of further information, the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.