Our research indicates that over the past six years no incidents of employee theft have been reported within 10 of the companies that have been our clients In analyzing the security practices of these 10 companies we have further learned that each of

The argument claims that if employees are obligated to wear photo identification badges (pib) at work, the number of employee thefts can be minimized. The claim is supported by a research conducted with 10 clients of a security and safety consulting service. Stated in this way, the argument reveals examples of poor reasoning and ill-defined terminology. In addition, the argument fails to address several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. Furthermore, the conclusion relies on assumption for which there is no clear evidence. Hence, the argument is unconvincing and has several flaws.

First, the argument readily bases oneself on a sample of 10 companies and a time period of 6 years. This approach is a stretch and not substantiated in any way. Not only is no further information about the companies and their employees provided but also it is no explained why the focus lies on employee thefts. For example, the probability that employees become a theft is extremely low as they are endangered to lose their jobs when they are caught. Also, it might be possible that each company in the sample only has 3 employees. Therefore, the company has a low risk for employee due to simpler employee monitoring. The argument could have been much clearer if it explicitly stated more information about the sample.

Second, the argument claims that the absence of employee thefts is because of the obligation for the employees to wear pib. This is again a very weak and unsupported claim, as the argument misses to address the several other factors, which influence the company security. To illustrate, pib are only one part of a security concept. The other parts are CCTV cameras, security cards, different access controls. Therefore, it is not clear, whether the pib are the only reason for the absence of employee thefts. If the argument had provided further evidence that the pib are the only reason for the absence of employee thefts then the argument woul have been a lot more convincing.

Finally, the argument concludes that the use of pib should be recommended to all clients. From this statement again it is not clear at all whether the other companies would do similar to how the sample companies did. And as the inferences are based on an insufficient sample and the pib are not proofed as best method, one is left with the impression that the argument is more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. Without full knowledge of all relevant factors, the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.