This past winter 200 students from Waymarsh State College traveled to the state capitol building to protest againstproposed cuts in funding for various state college programs The other 12 000 Waymarsh students evidently weren tso concerned about their

The argument claims that the state legislature need not consider the protest of 200 students, who travelled to the state capitol building, to demonstrate against the proposed cuts in funding of their college programs. The line of reasoning is that only 200 of the possible 12,000 students travelled to the state capitol, consequently the small group were not representative. Stated in this way, the argument manipulates facts and conveys a distorted view of the situation. In addition, the argument fails to mention several key factors, based on which it could be evaluated. Also, the argument relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. Hence, the argument is unconvincing and has several flaws.

First, the argument readily assumes that the 12,000 students who did not join the protest are not interested in their education. This statement is a stretch and not substantiated. As the argument already reveals, the remaining students either stayed at the campus or left for winter break. These circumstances are not sufficient evidence to conclude that the students are not concerned about their education. For example, the students could be concerned about their education, but because of an exam they could not join the other 200 students. And the students, who left for winter break, maybe had already planned their holidays before the protest was announced and therefore, they could not postpone their trip. In addition, factors such as the travel time or the ticket prices could be responsible for the small number of participants. Without further information it cannot be concluded that the 12,000 students are not interested in their education. The argument could have been much clearer if it stated supporting information.

Second, the argument assumes that the power of a protesting group depends on its size. This is again a very weak and unconvincing argument, as the argument does not demonstrate any correlation between the group size and their representativeness. To illustrate, many historic events have shown that it sometimes takes only a single person to influence and control most of a population. Also, if the protest is covered by the media and appears in the news, it would definitely be representative, although only 200 students were part of it. In addition, the argument does not provide any supporting evidence, which supports its claim. If the argument had provided the evidence, then the argument would have been more convincing.

Finally, the argument claims that the state legislature need not consider the protest of 200 students. This is claim is also very weak and unconvincing. As the argument cannot substantiate that the students are not representative, it is wrong to conclude that the state legislature should not need to consider protest. Also, the argument does not provide data, that the protest is only limited to the Waymarsh State College (WSC). Therefore, students from other state colleges might also join the students from WSC, with the consequence that the final group is greater than the author assumes. Without convincing answers to these questions and supporting data, one is left with the impression that the argument is more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above reasons and is therefore unconvincing. It remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.