The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument speculates that due to the frequent number of assignments the students of Sanlee are not doing well in the examinations. In order to justify this, the assignment given to the students of Marlee has been taken into consideration. But jumping to any conclusion requires validation of the soundness of the claims and this is not present in the statement.

Firstly, the recommendation is based on a survey of the high school math and science teachers about the number of assignments they give to their students. But there is no mention about whether the students properly submit their assignments. It may happen that the students of Sanlee are not attentive to their instructors and do not submit their homeworks regularly. On the other hand, the students of Marlee tend to be more serious than the students of Sanlee. Furthermore, there is no mention about the quality of assignments. Perhaps, the assignments of the Sanlee are not very productive to the learning of the students in comparison to that of the Marlee. Again, another reason can play a role in the better grades of the students of Marlee. Actually, the faculties of Marlee set final questions from their assignments hence students perform well in the exams whereas the faculties of Sanlee tend to be cautious not to set questions from the assignments. Hence without knowing all of these, it will be unappropriate to reach a conclusion.

Furthermore, we cannot compare the grades of students of different districts since there may be many factors. For example, the students of Sanlee may not get proper guidance. Sanlee may locate in a remote place where the educational facilites, faculties and others are not close to that of the Marlee. Again there is no mention about the previous record of these two districts. It may happen that average grades of the students of Sanlee have been lower than that of Manlee for past years. Hence this will be a biased thinking to take into account only the frequency of the assignments in this case.

Not to least, even if we assume that the past records and the teaching as well as the student quality is same in these institutes, there may be other factors behind this sudden degradation of the results. Hence in order to strengthen this claim, a proper survey has to be taken from both the students and the teachers about their perception on what are the factors that need to be addressed. Moreover, the total number of students of Sanlee are much lower than that of Marlee. Hence the number of students getting highest grades will be greater in Marlee. But if we consider percentage, then the scenario may be opposite.

In fine, it will be too irrational to reach a conclusion before addressing all these issues. Hence at this present condition, the hypothesis is totally unwarrented.