Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position

The title suggests that government should focus on solving problems at hand rather than the anticipated problems of the future. Undoubtedly, the main focus should always be on the most pressing current problems but this statement emphasizes on this a lot. Hence this narrow generalization has make this statement unsupportive.

Indisputably, governments of all the countries give their main focus on the most burdening problems that requires immediate actions. There is no alternative to this in fact. For example, recently in our country, Dengue fever has become an epidemic and it is taking a lot of lives. Hence government has taken various steps immediately to prevent this like spreading mosquito killing spray, creating awareness among people and decreasing the treatment cost. All these steps tremendously improved the overall condition. Furthermore, soil erosion due to flooding is another recent problem in some parts of our country. Government also taken immediate steps to relocate the people of those areas. Hence there is no denying the fact that government should always response immediately to the current issues for the keeping balance in the country.

However, that does not necessarily mean that government should only remain busy with the immediate problems and should not anticipate which problems may come in future. In fact, if the future problems can be identified early, proper steps can be taken before and thus much casualties can be avoided. This type of visionary plan should be taken by all governments. For example, if the ruling party of our country could estimate the recrudesce of Dengue fever earlier by collecting data from various source, this problem would not be epidemic like this. In fact, there is an old saying that - prevention is better than cure. Actually, our neighboring countries took precautionary steps and thus were able to avoid the death of people. On the other hand, the government should identify the areas which will be vulnerable during floods and construct dams to secure that area. Thus measuring the problems earlier can save a lot of problems which can be very cumbersome to solve later.

Another example can be given against the statement. Suppose a government only rely on solving the current problems and do not try to anticipate what may trouble in future. So they can have no idea and preparation what they will face tomorrow. In present situation, the global economy fluctuates quite rapidly. Moreover, the occurrence of major climatic incidents can cause a huge damage within a few minutes. There can be sudden attack from other countries and so many more. So without being prepared for the problems earlier, it will be difficult to address all of them if they occur at once. Hence it will be unwise for a government to focus only on recent issues rather than the anticipated future problems.

In fine, the government should always be vigilant against all sorts of odds that may happen now or in future. Hence for this reason, I cannot fully agree with the statement.