The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument suggests that homework should be at most twice a week because of the data mentioned in the argument. However, some musing over evidence is very first very much before taking any steps.

Firstly, the writer proposes that a data from a survey showing that Marlee students can still gain better grades overall even with less frequent homework. Still, we don't know about whom the survey is done by and the detailed information of a survey has to be presented in the argument. It could be true that the survey coming from an authoritative institution with credible reputation in the international education analysis field. Another probable explanation is that the author of a survey is a teacher who is in charge of review homework by students. He is bored with the heavy homework correction routine and wants to end this by a survey showing that less frequent homework is beneficial. Therefore, the report is suggested to use 3rd party survey for cross check to make sure the validity of it.

Additionally, the detailed content of homework has to be presented before jumping into a conclusion. It is possible that the content of the homework of Marless changed together with the frequency, the material was improved by experts in education field, so it could be the material affecting the performance of pupils, not the frequency of the homework. Thus, the content of homework has to be shown in the argument so that we could examine if the material changed and mattered.

Moreover, the author mentioned that Marlee students have more time focusing on the homework than Sanlee pupils. Nevertheless, the detailed of the information needs to be offered because it could be roughly judged. For instance, the reporter just compares the off school time of Marless and Sanlee. Because Marlee off school time is 1 hours earlier, it seems that the Marlee students have more time doing homework. However, it is possible that Marlee needs to go school 2 hours earlier than Sanlee. Or Marlee students have to attend the extra outdoor classes after school. The detailed information for how much time for Marlee and Sanlee students to do homework is recommended to provide in order to make the argument convincing.

In conclusion, unless the credential of detailed evidence mentioned above is offered, the readers could not believe in the argument.