The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The survey mentioned in the prompt concludes that teachers in Sanlee school must provide less homework in order to provide more free time for students to concentrate on individual assignments, which is rife with logical flaws. It includes many of the unwarranted assumptions lacking much of the evidence to supports them, as elaborated below.

Firstly, prompt mentions the students at Marlee are likely to get better grades than the students at Sanlee despite them receiving lesser homework, but it no-where provides evidence about the student's intellectual levels. Are students who are admitted at Marlee more clever than those of Sanlee and require less tutoring and guidance with home works. It might be the case the students at Marlee can take care of themselves by self-learning the concepts, which the students are Sanlee are incapable of. Such evidence would give insights into the difference between the grades at these different schools. The survey also does not include any evidence about the tests which the student from both schools are graded against, are they standardized tests, which provide reliable scores or the tests at Marlee are usually easier compared to those at Sanlee, resulting in lesser grades for the students.

Secondly, the survey also does not provide any evidence with respect to the quality of the home works provided to the students at these different schools. Perhaps, it might the case where the quality of home works provided at Marlee is of higher, which actually helps them excel in their studies, unlike the ones provided at Sanlee which do not really challenge the student intellectually, resulting in lower grades for the students at Sanlee. Even if the quality of assignments provided is the same, there is no evidence provided which mentions that students do actually understand and solve the assignments on their own rather than copying other's work, defying the purpose of the homework altogether.

Lastly, does providing students with more leisure time equate to them using it for studying other individual assignments? Evidence is necessary about the student's usual activities during their leisure time to infer they will be investing the given free time in doing other individual assignments. In contrary to the students using their leisure time to complete other assignments, they might use it for other recreational activities like playing games, visiting friends, etc. Maybe that is what the students need, not having to do more homework, but more time to refresh which would enable them to focus more on their studies, likely resulting in better grades.

Thus, the conclusion of the survey must be complemented with the above evidence and more, in order for us to use the survey as the basis for to conclude, reducing the frequency of homework currently being given to students at Sanlee will help them to get better grades.