The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The study concludes that teachers in the high schools should not assign homework more than twice a week. The conclusion of the study is based on the data of the survey of high school math and science teachers in districts of sanlee and marlee. The data show that many of math and science teachers in the sanlee district assign daily home work whereas in the marlee district most of the science and math teachers assign homework no more than two or three days per week. According to the study, despite less frequency of the homework assignment, marlee students perform better overall and less likely to repeat a year of school than students of the marlee district. The study infer that most likely the students of sanlee have more time to concentrate on individual assignment than do the marlee students. I find the argument present in the study very week and not logically convincing for various reasons.

Firstly, the argument mentions non of the relevant information regarding the survey such as sample size or who conducted the survey. Thus, without providing all the relevant information which are requried to confirm the validity of the survey, it's completely illogical to draw a conclusion on the bases of survey.

Secondly, the survey was conducted on math and science teachers of the two districts. If the survery was conducted on the math and science teachers, we can only draw conclusion about there two subjects, instead the argument compares the overall grade of the students to draw the conclusion. Hence, conclusion that teachers in the high schools should not assign homework more than twice a week is based on merely weak generalisation rather than a strong premise.

Finally, the argument assumes the overall grades of the students only depend on the factors such as how frequently homework is assigned to them by teachers and amount of time they spent on individual assignments. This assumption is completely unreliable. Therefore, it's completely presumptuous to draw a conclusion the basis of such premise.

In conclusion, the conclusion is defective because of various reasons mentioned above. The author of the argument should at least provide relevant information regarding survey, support of the assumption and reason for generalisation. without mentioning these things, the argument could not hold its ground.