The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The opinion in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine concludes that magazine should invest its resource in unmanned space flight. To draw above conclusion the author of the letter cites that manned space flight is costly and dangerous. furthermore, the author mentions that the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites have demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. I find the argument in the letter not very convincing for various reasons.

Firstly, the author of the letter not mentions how investing more resources in unmanned space flight will help the magazine. Unless the author mentions any such benefit from doing so, the whole argument is pointless. hence the conclusion of the argument is abrupt and useless.

Secondly, The author of the letter assumes that only purpose of the space flights is to gather information. This assumption is completely wrong as there are the lot of purposes other than gathering information such as sending human to other planets for settlement, sending engineering to repair satellites. hence we can't conclude that the manned space flight are not useful.

Finally, The author claims that manned space flight are more costly and dangerous than unmanned space flight. But the author never provides any data to proof or support the claim. Therefore, without a relevent data to support the claim, claim is not at all helpful in drawing the conclusion.

In conclusion, the argument presented in the letter is abrupt, illogical and baseless. The author of the letter should at the very least provide the benefits of investing resources to unmanned space flight. furthermore without the proper support for the assumption and claim made in the argument, the argument merely presents the emotional appeal rather than a strong convincing argument