Downtown Zurzi is becoming increasingly congested with traffic, increasing commuting time for those

who work downtown or near downtown. The nearby city of Loft was faced with the same problem several

years ago and implemented a small weekly tax for driving one’s car downtown. Downtown traffic almost

immediately subsided in Loft and the local government also raised much needed money for fixing roads

elsewhere. Obviously, this plan should be implemented in Zurzi in order to solve the brewing traffic

congestion problem.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and

explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the argument, Downtown Zurzi is being congested by traffic and they have suggested to implement a weekly tax for driving a car to the downtown in order to reduce the traffic similar to the one implemented in the nearby city of Loft. The above argument seems to be compelling but it’s effectiveness can be evaluated only after acquiring certain evidence.

Firstly, there is no evidence that the reduction in traffic in the city of Loft was due to the implementation of the weekly tax for driving one’s car downtown. There could have been other reasons as well for the reduction of traffic in Loft. Also, even though the tax implementation worked in Loft, it is not necessary that implementing weekly tax for driving one’s car downtown would reduce the traffic in downtown Zurzi. Evidence is needed to back this claim.

Moreover, we also need data regarding the traffic situation in Loft, whether it is as congested as downtown Zurzi or not. Also, there is no evidence for the claim that the money raised by the local government of Loft was used for fixing the roads. The money could have been used for other purposes as well which would reduce the effectiveness of implementing the weekly tax.

So, only after we get these evidences could we evaluate the usefulness of implementing the weekly tax for driving one’s car downtown. If implementing weekly tax was the main reason of reducing traffic in Loft then it would lend support to the argument and be effective for downtown Zurzi as well.