Downtown Zurzi is becoming increasingly congested with traffic, increasing commuting time for those who work downtown or near downtown. The nearby city of Loft was faced with the same problem several years ago and implemented a small weekly tax for driving one’s car downtown. Downtown traffic almost immediately subsided in Loft and the local government also raised much needed money for fixing roads elsewhere. Obviously, this plan should be implemented in Zurzi in order to solve the brewing traffic congestion problem.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author’s claim than certain steps should be taken to solve an acute problem of traffic jams in the downtown Zurzi. To support this conclusion, the author draws comparison with the nearby city of Loft where the small tax introduction helped to decrease traffic congestion, along with raising money to fix roads elsewhere. At first glimpse, the author’s logical chain seems to be reasonable, but further analysis of assumptions is necessary to prove its viability.

First and foremost, there is, clearly, a failure to mention the reasons for the increased traffic in Zurzi. Were their any major events in the downtown happening around that particular time, such as global summit of world leaders which caused the flow of foreign visitors to Zurzi? In this case, a drastic measure of introducing the taxes seem like cracking the nut with the sledgehammer to solve the traffic problem. If the problem has a transient nature, then no measure is needed, the traffic congestion will fade away once high-profile meetings end, no credit should be attributed to the introduced tax policy, if so.

Second, the author takes a doubtful route of comparing two places which might not even stand close to each other by many parameters. Zurzi can be located high in mountains, and Loft can be a flat city? This mere difference can make the plan with taxes that worked for Loft not working for Zurzi.

Finally, let’s assume that mentioned above assumptions are addressed in the passage and small taxes are introduced in Zurzi. This is where the most dubious assumption lies. How can the author make sure that applying certain tax will lead the desired driver’s behaviour and decrease traffic congestion in Zurzi? Imagine, there is no alternative route, and people still have to commute to work and willing to pay the tax, where is the guarantee that this plan will subside the traffic jams? While the author’s conclusion about local governments may raise money to fix some other roads, there is a loose correlation between one behavior certainly leading to another, desired done.

To recap, the author’s claim may hold some merit if questions raised in the essay are answered. Otherwise, the argument that plan of introducing a small tax in Zurzi will decrease traffic congestion is not convincing.