Downtown Zurzi is becoming increasingly congested with traffic, increasing commuting time for those

who work downtown or near downtown. The nearby city of Loft was faced with the same problem several

years ago and implemented a small weekly tax for driving one’s car downtown. Downtown traffic almost

immediately subsided in Loft and the local government also raised much needed money for fixing roads

elsewhere. Obviously, this plan should be implemented in Zurzi in order to solve the brewing traffic

congestion problem.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and

explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given argument states that traffic in Zurzi is increasing and can be resolved by implementing a system which was used in nearby city Loft for solving the traffic problem. The argument can be evaluated only if some evidences can be provided.

First evidence which is of utmost importance is that were the morale of people of Loft high after the government implementing weekly taxes. If not, this system should not be implemented in any further cities as this could cause chaos and rebellious behavior in the community. Secondly, the geographical location of both cities plays an important role. If Zurzi is a hub for of various commercial companies providing jobs to many people, implementing weekly taxes would not help to reduce the traffic congestion.

Moreover, evidence such as presence of sufficient public transport at Loft would be a factor. If Loft did not have more public transport services or options then implementing weekly taxes could help reducing congestion. Whereas in city Zurzi encouraging people to use more and more public transport would help in reducing the congestion. Also, data such as population density of both the cities would an evidence to evaluate the argument. Two cities having uneven population density cannot be compared for traffic.

Hence if these evidences would have been provided, evaluating the argument will become easier.