During the past year, Quiot manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries Plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep.

The writer states that the number of on-the-job accidents in Quiot is primarily due to fatigue and sleep deprivation. The writer also compares the number of accidents in Quiot to that of Panoply Industries. The writer however fails to provide substantial evidence to support his claims thereby rendering the argument fundamentally flawed and unconvincing.

First, the writer assumes that Quiot manufacturing and Panoply industries are similar. This assumption is however unwarranted as these two companies can differ in several aspects. For instance, Quiot manufacturing may be into heavy machinery and subsequently be more prone to on-the-job related accidents. A fabrication company for instance would largely differ from a fully automated food processing plant in terms of day-to-day operations. The writer fails to provide evidence to determine the scope of Qiuot operations and how similar (or different) they are to that of Panoply.

Furthermore, the writer claims that there were 30% more on-the-job related accidents in Quiot than in Panoply but fails to provide more information as regards the number of employees in both companies and the number of reported accidents. For example, there may be 1,000 employees in Quiot with 10 reported accidents while there are significantly fewer employees in Panoply with far fewer reported accidents. The writer could strengthen his claim by providing more statistical data. In addition, the writer attributes the cause of accidents solely to fatigue and sleep deprivation but fails to provide adequate support. There could be other factors responsible for accidents such as negligence, lack of proper training in handling complex equipment, faulty or poorly maintained equipment, etc. The writer can therefore support this claim by providing correspondence with the victims stating that fatigue was the major factor in causing these accidents.

In conclusion, the writer may not exactly be mistaken in claiming that fatigue and sleep deprivation were the major factors that affected on-the-job related accidents. After all, providing more free time for employees to get an adequate amount of sleep is would likely not increase the number of on-the-job related accidents. However, to support this claim, the writer should provide more information regarding the companies scope of operations, the workforce in both companies, and the number of reported accident cases.