In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

The contributions made by individuals in any field of inquiry is vital in the sense that these contributions may be essential in the progress of that field. The contributions made by beginners and experts however differ in terms of practicality -an expert is more likely to provide contributions that can be backed up by facts and experience. Therefore an expert is more likely to prefer contributions that would be significantly effective in that field.

First of all, the level of education an expert has acquired over the years would largely differ from that of a beginner. This subsequently means that an expert is more likely to prefer contributions that can be backed-up by theories and facts. For example, an expert reservoir engineer who is faced with a problem of the perforation strategy for completing an oil well would present strategies based on his knowledge about the oil properties, the reservoir temperature and pressure, PVT parameters, and several other factors. This knowledge would help him/her make calculated decisions. A beginner however is at a disadvantage since it would take a considerable amount of time to garner this technical knowledge.

Furthermore, an expert is more likely to profer significant contributions based on his/her experience level. An expert working in a particular industry for close to 10 years would be able to display fine distinctions in dealing with current real-world problems in that field. For example, a production technologist in an exploration and production company faced with a problem of a significant decrease in oil production would be able to provide management with reasons for such decline. The technologist may be confounded as to whether an increase in water production, a pressure decline, or an increase in gas production is responsible for such decline. However, the technologist's experience and fundamental technical knowledge of the well type would help him/her determine the most likely cause.

In as much as experts are at an advantage in proferring important contributions, a beginner however may be able to reason holistically and think outside the box. This however is very unlikely as there are certain fields that require precision in reasoning and contributions.

In conclusion, a beginner is largely at a disadvantage in providing significant contributions based on his/her lack of experience and technical knowledge. Fields as intricate as engineering would demand a high level of technical knowledge in order to make significant contributions.