The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the above memo, the author argues that to curtail the number of on-the-job accidents Quiot Manufacturing should shorten each of their three work shift by one hour so that workers should get an adequate amount of sleep since sleep and fatigue is one of the salient factors behind the on-the-job accidents. The author bolsters his argument based on the premise that last year there have been fewer accidents at the nearby Panoply Industries plant where work shifts are one hour shorter than theirs, thus ostensively implementing the same strategy will reduce the number of accidents. However, before evaluating the author’s main conclusion, three unstated assumptions need to be answered.

Firstly, the author argues that by ostensively adopting the same strategy as the nearby panoply industrious plant, Quiont Manufacturing will be able to dwindle the number of accidents without any proper evidence about both of the industries. One may raise questions about the authenticity of the comparison. In other words, is the strategy of using circumstances from one thing to generalise and predict others legitimate? Perhaps, the two industries are not similar at all. Maybe these two industries produce completely separate goods and workers of Quiont Manufacturing deal with more risky works than Panoply. If the above scenario is true then the author's argument holds no water. The author has to provide more legitimate evidence regarding two industries regarding their functionality to rectify his claim.

Secondly, the author states that sleep and fatigue are one of the core factors behind accidents without any proper justification. One may wonder whether sleep and fatigue is the only reason behind the accidents. There is a feasibility that poor work environment is the sole cause of the accidents. Maybe poor maintenance and the dilapidated condition of the machines are causing the mishaps. The author does not provide any admissible evidence about sleep being the core factor of accidents. The author must provide more evidence perhaps in the form of a systematic research study regarding the effect of sleep on workers to bolster his claim otherwise, the author’s argument is seriously counterfeit.

In conclusion, the author’s argument stands now is seriously flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author can answer the three questions above and offers more evidence perhaps in the form of a systematic research study then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation that reducing the working hour at each shift will be efficacy to lower the number of accidents.