"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

While it may be true that sleep deprivation increases the number of on-the-job accidents on two

factories, Quiot Manufacturing and Panoply Industries, the argument does not allow the conclusion

that the effect is caused by the only factor. Scrutiny of the statistics of accidents and the

employee`s reports the argument cites reveals that the evidence lends little credible support for the

author`s claim because it relies on a number of unsupported assumptions. It suggests groundless

cause-effect reasoning and uses imprecise and vague language.

The first significant assumption is that the decrease of time shifts would consecutively reduce the

number of on-the-job accidents. The problem is that the decrease may have other reasons such as new equipment or the education of the workers. Moreover, the author thinks that this reduction should be

followed by an increase in production. However, it is not obvious that the rise will actually be

because there is no justification of the outcome. This way, the absence of the information is crucial

for the estimation of the actual effect of the work shift decrease.

The second crucial assumption is that the provided statistics is correct and the experts base their

opinions on the solid research. The problem is that we do not know it. The sources of the statistics

may be biased, and it could not reflect the actual situation in both the factories. To add, there is

no specific information about the experts and their sources. It is possible that they are not actually

experts because we know nothing about them, so, their opinions cannot be truthful. In addition,

we do not have any knowledge about their sources. They may base their opinions on random and

non-scientific literature. Therefore, the lack of information about data and sources weakens the

author`s assumption, so, to improve his argument, he must provide more information about them.

The third important assumption is that both factories are similar. The problem is that we know

nothing about them except their names. The production process in one of the factories may be more

dangerous, compared to the same process on the other factory. Both the factories may have different

specializations. In addition, the number of employees and the term of the shifts themselves may vary,

too. Hence, we must know much more about these factories for the opportunity to provide the valid

justification of the argument.

There is not enough evidence to support the claim the reduction of the work shifts will actually decrease

the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot Manufacturing, as the key elements of the discussion have

been left out. One must have knowledge about the situation within both the factories before and after

the shrinking of the work shifts, have precise information about sources of the author and the experts

that mentioned by him, and to consider the local and organizational context of both the factories for the

valid statements to be made. Unless the author can address these key issues, the argument is more of

wishful thinking as opposed to one that can yield actual results for factories.