Essay topics:

The following appeared as a memorandum from the Human Resources director at Dexter

Gorman Instruments, a company that manufactures saxophones.

“On this year’s survey about work habits, our employees tended to strongly agree with the

idea that if they took less time to complete their assigned work, the quality of their work

would suffer. However, we recently conducted an internal study that proves this idea

wrong. Managers across several divisions identified an overtime group: the employees

who worked an average of 48 or more hours per week over the past year instead of the

expected 40 hours per week. We then looked at the number of documented work errors

produced by all of our employees during the past year and found that the overtime group

was responsible for significantly more work errors overall than their fellow employees. On

the basis of these findings, our recommendation to the company president is to require

employees to complete their work during the regular 40-hour work week and allow

overtime only for urgent circumstances.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

From the memorandum, the company states that is better their worker finished the task in the regular 40-hour work to avoid inferior quality based on the evidence that majority of mistakes were made by the employees who worked overtime, even though their employee said that not enough time causes the compromised quality. The logic underlying this statement seems reasonable at the first glance but as looking closer, the assertion is seriously flawed.

Firstly, the worker in the survey were strongly agree that not enough work time will compromise the quality of work. The company did investigate in but fail to identify that worker are working overtime is because they might did not have enough time to complete the task, which is the what the employees’ states in the survey. Not allowing the worker to work overtime will only worsen the situation as it is impossible for worker to complete such task in short time, not even mention it cannot even be done in overtime.

Secondly, the company fail to take account in the task difficulty and employee’s skill level. The low-skilled worker who are assigned with high-level task that is not matched with their ability is more likely to produce inferior product and work overtime. Also, there is always some simple and difficult tasks, while the complex work could generate more profit, it also means higher risk of failure. For instance, if a expensive saxophones require customisations with costly raw material, which is more complex and time-constrain. Hence, shortening the work time to 40-hour per week might not improve the working efficiency and quality.

In conclusion, the company fail to examine the real causes behind the inferior quality and wrongly state that shorter working hours could improve current situation. If the company provide the evidence that work allocated to worker were based on their skill-level, the statement will be more convincing.