The following appeared as a memorandum from the Human Resources director at Dexter Gorman Instruments a company that manufactures saxophones On this year s survey about work habits our employees tended to strongly agree with the idea that if they took les

In this argument, the author recommends that employees at Dexter Gorman Instruments should complete their work during the regular 40-hour work week and allow overtime only for urgent circumstances. To substantiate this recommendation, the author provide evidence based on an internal study. However, there are many questions needed to be gone through to determine whether the recommendation and argument are reasonable.

First, it is unclear that whether the respondents has told the truth in this year' survey. It is possible that they do not have the courage to tell the truth given that they have the perception that the conductor, namely the company, is wish them to avow the positive relationship between work time and the quality of their work, and they may be punished by means of fines or fire otherwise. Without ruling out this possibility, the result of survey is not convincing.

Second, it is not informed whether the overtime group and non-overtime group have the initial differences in terms of work quality. If the employees in the overtime group are inept at working whether they take overtime or not, then the more work errors in the overtime group may be not occasioned by working time. Without taking this possibility into consideration, it is unfairly to conclude that taking more time to complete work is responsible for the more work errors.

Third, it is questionable whether sample size is enough to represent the whole company both in this year's survey and the recent internal study. It is possible that the samples studied are special cases and are too limited to elicit the whole picture. Without addressing this issue, the recommendation is not reliable.

Fourth, even if the questions above have been addressed, it is still problematic whether there are other potential factors contributing the more work errors in the overtime group. It is possible that there is just a correlation between working time and work quality, which is not necessarily infer a causal relationship. For example, it is the experience and skills rather than the working time that result in the differences between the two experimental groups. Without ruling out other possible factors, the author cannot justifiably conclude that working time is responsible for the quality of work.

To sum up, the recommendation and the argument can be evaluated only after taking the questions mentioned adequately addressed.