The Fern County Council made the right decision when it unanimously voted to convert the Northside branch of the county library system into a computer-skills training facility for public use. The converted facility will fill what is certain, based on national trends, to be a growing need among county residents for training in computer skills. And since our library system boasts more volumes per resident than any other system in the state, the remaining branches will adequately serve the future needs of Fern County residents."

This editorial argues that the fern county Council’s decision to convert a library branch to a computer-skill training facility was correct. However, it’s author doesn’t offer sufficient evidence to allow a proper evaluation of the argument’s reasoning. There are several assumptions on which the argument rests weakly. First, the author assumes that county residents are not already proficient in computer skills and still majority of them need training. Secondly, no information is provided on the existing alternatives of providing computer training. Finally, large number of books per capita doesn’t prove that the supply will be adequate in the future. In the rest of my essay, I detail each of these flaws which might weaken the argument.

The first loophole has to do with the claim that there is “certain” to be growing need in Fern Country for computer-skill training. The author provides no specific evidence that the county conforms to the cited trend. Without any concrete evidence, it’s entirely possible that most of the county people are already proficient in computer skills. Of course, its also possible that a large and growing number of population of County consists of children and old aged people or unemployed workers who are in need of computer training. In any case, more information is needed to determine the extent to which Fern County resident actually need and would use Northside computer facility.

Another flaw in the argument involves the assumptions that there are no alternative means of providing computer training in the County. Perhaps, certain local businesses are already providing computer training facility to the general public. In that case, it would be useful to know whether the existing facility are sufficient to meet the anticipated demands and whether these alternatives are affordable for most county residents. Or, maybe the county residents are willing to teach themselves through online courses, books etc—in which case it would be useful to know the extent to which affordable Internet access is available to Fern County households. If it turns out the county residents can easily obtain computer skills through means such as these, then converting Norhtside branch might not be sensible.

Finally, the author doesn’t offer any convincing data to support the argument that a greater number of books per capita will suffice the needs of future. We need to know how many books per capita do the store possess and is this number large enough that it will fulfill the needs of the residents when the population of County increases in future. Also, a full assessment of whether the proposed plan is practical or not, would require knowledge about whether the remaining branches provide adequate self-space to accommodate the books from the Northside branch. This would require detailed information about the current inventory and the anticipated needs of Fern County residents. If it is found that other branches doesn’t have enough space to accommodate more books and that the Fern county people are in needs of new books then the author’s conclusion will be unwarranted.

In sum, a proper evaluation of the author’s argument requires more information about the current and anticipated demand for computer-skill traininig in Fern County and about the adequacy of the library current stack to meet the interest and preferences of countys residents.