"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The budget planning committee of city Calatrava recommends that the city should reduce the funds budgeted for education for the next decade given that the city birthrate is declining. Further, the committee argues that they could use the money saved on education to fund city facilities and program which are used primarily by adults.

The plan appears sound on the surface but a close look at the arguments offered reveal that the arguments rests weakly on several assumptions. Moreover, the arguments reasoning is fallacious as well. The rest of the essay details some of the defects in the committee's arguments.

The committee's claim that the city birthrate is declining is based on only last year data. It is mentioned that, "last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago". This data fails to convey a trend in the birthrate. There could be several reasons for the decline in last year's birthrate. Perhaps, there was some disease which prevented made people to planning a child. Maybe there was an economic downturn which lead the residents to not have a child in that year for financial reasons. We don't know.

We need to have a data of at least a couple of years to reasonably ascertain if the decline in birthrate is really a trend or it's just one kink in the data. The author assumes that a declining birthrate would result in lower enrollment in public schools. However, the author doesn't offer any evidence which can support this assumptions. What if the city has high influx of immigrants who are settling for job prospects? They might already have kids which they would want to send to the schools and thus the enrollment may not decline at all. Also, even if for argument's sake we take that the enrollment will decline, we still don't have a convincing reason to reduce the funds budgeted for education. Maybe the funds are utilized in maintaining the school buildings, which has not correlation with the number of students enrolled. Therefore we require knowledge about other sources which can keep the enrollment of students in school same or increase, even though the city's birth rate is declining. If it is found that there other sources of students which can keep the enrollment as it as for example, students from different city attending the school in the city of Calatraava, then the argument would be invalid.

Finally, the committee assumes that adult population will increase and thus they should devote more funds to city facilites and programs. Again, the author provide no evidence to convince us that this will hold true. Perhaps, the city is good only of high school education and there no prospects of jobs. In that case, adults might prefer to move to another city or country for better career prospects, then the assumption would not hold true and the argument would be unwarranted.