Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

The author of this arguments says that after starting student evaluation of teachers at Omega University the grades of students increased by an average of 30% and the graduates have been less successful at getting jobs than students at Alpha University. Therfore, student evaluation of teachers should stop. This argument assumes a lot of things and has a few errors in reasoning and incomplete data though.

Firstly, the argument mentions a change occurring fifteen years ago and does not mention any changes occuring recently. Were no other changes affecting employment rates of students made? Why did no one raise this problem when it started happening but now when a lot of time has passed? Fifteen years was enough time to terminate student evaluation of teachers if the problem lies there. Did students from ten years ago also faced this problem or do only the students now do? If they did not, it suggests some other reason for less success of graduates.

Secondly, the argument assumes that the only reason grades of students can have increased is because they were inflated by the teachers to get better evaluation. But the usual goal of evaluation is feedback and there is a distinct possibility that the grades increased due to the feedback received by teachers that lead them to teach in a better and more productive manner. This can also be the reason for grade inflation and supports the student evaluation of teachers.

Thirdly, it states that the graduates from Omega University have been less successful at getting jobs than graduates at Alpha University but it does not mention how the success of both Universities was measured and whether the Omega graduates before student evaluation were as successful as graduates from Alpha University. It also does not compare Omega graduates success today with their success from 15 years ago. Maybe, Omega graduates were less successful even before student evaluation of teachers compared to Alpha graduates and now, they are more successful compared to older Omega graduates.

Lastly, the article assumes that only the inflated grades are putting off the potential employers, since it is not mentioned if the employers themselves stated that, while it might be that they require something more than good grades like an internship or some projects. Maybe, the students at Omega University do not network or do not have anything more in their resume than a college grade while students at Alpha University may do internships, projects, research, etc.

Thus, it cannot be said that student evaluation of students should stop since it might actually be helping and the given data is insufficient and does not give the full picture on which we may base that conclusion.