Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors. Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The measure introduced by the Omega university implemented was a good way to judge the teaching capabilities of the teacher in question. And who else is a better judge than the students themselves, right? But the professors took the easy way out to avoid the scrutiny by abusing the implemented rule. There are benefits of this rule, Firstly, if the students evaluated that certain teacher is lacking in some area such as not being able to explain some concept or if the teacher is having an erratic or objectionable behaviour the they would be provided with the required training or their questionable behaviour would be rectified.

But what ensued was that the teachers circumvented the system and started awarded the students with more marks.The rule which was implemented to improve the overall teaching of the faculty which would have upped the ranking of the university. I agree with the statement above, that the sudden dramatic increase in the average marks of the students is certainly suspicious. And the potential employers being very wary of whom they are hiring took no time to notice that Omega university had a sudden jump in the average marks. even though they got "good" marks they would definitely face difficulty ro get a job than earlier because of the possibility of the university being flagged of increasing the marks of their students.

We can say that the faculty members did this in order to avoid the responsibility of coming face to face with their lackings, problems etc, which might be becuase of their misplaced and large egos. Just because someone is a teacher does not mean that they cannot be wrong or that they do not need to learn anything. We as humans learn something new with each and every passing hour and there is no harm in coming out and accepting that they still might need to learn some new way to teach or the need a training in order to bolster their shortcomings. Also with technology being incorporated in the classrooms, the teachers need to be always on the lookout for some novel ways, which might even go in the complete opposite direction of the way they are used to teach, But which changing times the teachers should also need to tweak their teaching patterns.

To rectify this issue, Omega university should scrap the rule for now just to stabilize the problem at hand so that the future of the students do not suffer because they will always have the option to implement this rule again, and if they decide to carry out this rule again they can take a lesson from this and make sure that no teacher is bribing the students with more marks in order to score good on their student evaluation and to avoid facing their problems as this might again hamper with the students' futures.