Five years ago, the local university built two new dormitories through different contractors:

Aleph Construction and Gimmel Builders. The buildings were nearly identical, though it cost

Gimmel Builders approximately 20 percent more to construct their dormitory. Aleph’s dormitory,

however, has required approximately 10 percent more in maintenance costs per year over the past

five years. Therefore, to construct their new dormitory with the lowest overall cost, the local

university should hire Aleph Construction.

The author claims that Aleph Construction is more cost efficient contractor and that's why the local university should choose Aleph Construction over Gimmel Builders. However, the argument contains some flaws and will not be accepted if it fails to answer some critical question. Moreover, the conclusion dismisses some assumption which is important to draw an accurate conclusion.

Firstly, the author assumes that two buildings were nearly identical that means the materials used were the same quality. But, it is difficult to differentiate by outside look what the materials were used. It can be employed that Aleph Construction used low-quality material and demanding low cost. Therefore, the accessories used like fan, bulb, fitting etc. cannot be compared with the two dormitories because they could be different in quality. Moreover, the area of the dormitories is not clear, range of place and overall size of the dormitories.

Secondly, the author claims that Gimmel Builders demanding 20 percent more to construct dormitory than Aleph Construction. But, without a proper number, it is difficult to say the amount they are demanding which is not accurately expressed by the author. Suppose, Gimmel Builders demands 20 percent extra and their materials are high quality than the Aleph Construction. Moreover, if the new dormitories will construct by Gimmel Builders need to less maintenance whereas Aleph Construction demands approximately 10 percent more in maintenance costs per year. Thus, Gimmel Builders is more preferable than Aleph Construction.

The third issue is the two dormitories built five years ago. So, the author cannot surely claim that the rate will be the same without proper investigation. Because over five years the rate can be changed and their demand might be. Also, it is not compulsory that the local university needs to hire only those two contractors.

To conclude, the author presents the proposal is quite vague and ambiguous. To take further step required more information to implement the proposal.