Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our deluxe alpaca overcoats. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has risen in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase

The author claims that about five years before the company has stopped the manufacturing of alpaca overcoats because the high-quality wool was not available. Now, the company has a new wool supplier so the manufacture of the alpaca overcoats can be started again and the selling of this product can give large profits. I found the above argument to be rife with holes due to many reasons.

Firstly, the author asserts that if the manufacturing of the alpaca overcoats, which were sold by company five years ago, ware started again then it will cause huge profit as they no longer have competitors and the coat has not been offered in the market since a long time. The statement is flawed because it may be possible that clothing style preferred by the people has changed now as compared to what it was five years back and people will be no longer interested in buying the alpaca overcoats. The author should provide evidence that enough people will buy the overcoat so that the company could make a profit.

Secondly, the author claims that all of the major competitors are not manufacturing alpaca overcoats and they have the chance to make huge profits by reintroducing it to the market. Perhaps, companies, other than the major competitors, have started to manufacture and sell it in the market and these companies have built good image among customers. The above stated is specious unless the author rules out these possibilities.

Thirdly, the author asserts that the coat will sell at a high price because the prices of other clothes have increased significantly during five years and the company will earn a huge profit. Here, the author has confused the profit with selling price but the profit is a function of both cost price and selling price. Perhaps, the cost of the wool has increased many folds that can make the profit low or perhaps the major competitors have ceased the production of alpaca overcoat due to the high cost of wool. The author should provide a proper analysis of the cost price and selling price of the product.

The argument provided in the memo is flawed and to bolster it author should show that people will buy the overcoat and how many other competitors are in the market. Moreover, the manufacturing cost and selling price should be calculated.