In order to reduce costs, we should close some of our existing small assembly plants and build a large central plant. Grandview would be an ideal location for this new plant. First, of the locations that we have considered, Grandview has the largest adult population, so that we will be able to staff our plant quickly and easily. Second, since the average wage earned by workers in Grandview is less than that in the other locations, we should be able to keep production costs low. Last, as an inducement for us to build there, Grandview's town council has offered to allow us to operate for the first three years without paying city taxes."

In the memo, the author claimed that by building a large plant in place of small assembly plants would reduce the cost and he proposes Grandview as the best place for the new plant. The argument of the author is flawed in many ways and hence unconvincing.

Firstly, the author makes an assertion that the new large plant will reduce cost as compared to small assembly plants. However, the author has not given any substantiate reason for this. Besides, the author has not considered the large sum of money which is required in order to construct the new larger plant. The author should provide a vivid plan about exactly how the cost will reduce.

Secondly, the author asserts that because Grandview is abounded with adult people, the company would get its staff easily. However, there is no data given on the number of young people who are living in that area. For the sake of argument, if it is accepted that there are many young people in that area even then it is not known that these people are ready to work for the firm. It may be possible that these people are employed already. The author should provide data on how many of the adult people are ready to work for the company.

Thirdly, one more logically flawed argument is made by the author that the production cost will decrease because the average labor cost in Grandview is low as compared to other regions. In this statement, the author has wrongly assumed that the production cost is only dependent on labor cost and leaving other factors such as cost of raw material, electricity charges and transportation charges. Until the author considers each factor that affects the cost and gives vivid data to prove his point, this argument is baseless.

Finally, the author claims that the tax relaxation for three years is given by the council as an incentive to build the factory at Grandview. Perhaps, other region’s council would give better options like relaxation for up to five years. The author should provide the data from other regions and substantiate the claim that Grandview is giving the best option.

The author claim is unpersuasive due to many reasons. Hence, the author should provide the data regarding the number of young people willing to work, the proposed place also offers low cost for other things besides low labor cost and Grandview is giving the maximum number of years of tax relaxation.