It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves

The speaker claimed that we are characterized by our social groups. I completely agree with the above statement. Forming groups and coterie are an innate characteristic of human behavior.

Children mix with other children who have same interest. There are students who are very good in studies always remain with the peers who are top in class while student who do not want to study much and waste their precious time stay together. Similarly, most of the groups made are on the basis of certain likes and dislikes which are common among the group members. So, we as human start forming groups from very beginning. Then, people associate themselves with different clubs like sport, drama, singing and other, tend to stay with each other because they have common interest.

Furthermore, people mostly work in the areas in which they are interested in and so they opt different occupations. People who have interest in sports become sportsman, people who have interest in science and exploring things, become scientists and so on. Even the great revolutions of the world took place due to the formation of social groups. In the USA, slavery was wide spread in early days. People who had compassion about the pain and suffering of the people under slavery began to make groups and created resistance against slavery. Similarly, in the past, women were subjugated in countless areas of life such as they did not have the right to vote. It was the formation of social groups by the people who had high values that everyone in the society should be treated equally formed social groups and propagated their ideas which resulted in the equality in the society.

Political parties are good example of social groups. These groups have members who have same ideology to take the society under their governance in that direction. There are parties who have the agenda to provide people with fast growing economy and employment while other have the goal to improve foreign relations and save environment. Even, the supporters of these parties with different ideologies form social groups.

So, it is the inert nature of human to form group on the basis of their common interest. The social group by which a man is associated reveals his true identity.