The following appeared in an announcement issued by the publisher of The Mercury, a weekly newspaper:

“Since a competing lower-priced newspaper, The Bugle, was started five years ago, The Mercury’s circulation has declined by 10,000 readers. The best way to get more people to read The Mercury is to reduce its price below that of The Bugle, at least until circulation increases to former levels. The increased circulation of The Mercury will attract more businesses to buy advertising space in the paper.”

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument

The argument states that the best way to increase circulation of The Mercury is to reduce its price below that of its competitor's. The argument comes to the conclusion by citing The Bugle, a lower-priced newspapaer as the reason for the decrease in The Mercury's circulation. In doing so, the argument makes numerous assumptions which need more evidence to be evaluated. In absence of the aforementioned evidence, the argument is weak and vulnerable to attack on various fronts.

Firstly, the inception of The Bugle has been mentioned to be causation of decline in The Mercury's circulation. However no further evidence has been provided for this assumption. The two events might have been statistically correlated without one causing the other. For example, if the quality of The Mercury's publication declined around the time when The Bugle was started, the two events, while being mutually exclusive, would have occured in the same time frame. On the contrary, it is possible that the quality of The Mercury declined because all good employees of The Mercury started working for The bugle. In both the cases, reducing the price will not be enough to increase the circulation.

Secondly, the argument assumes that The Mercury will be able to increase the circulation by decreasing prices. However no evidence of that has been provided. In addition to decrease in quality, if the content of The Mercury has changed over the five years to drive readers away, decreasing prices is unlikely to increase the circulation. Without further information on the reason for the decreased circulation, this is a potentially fatal assumption.

Thirdly, the argument assumes that the decrease in the prices, when temporary will provide permanant increase in circulation. If The Bugle, or any other competitor has increased circulation because of lower prices, then the prices for The Mercury might have to remain lower permanently for increased circulation over long term. Hence, this is a flawed assumption.

In conclusion, unless the argument provides more evidence on various assumption it makes and resolves some of the critical issues on how the argument came to the conclusion, it will remain weak.