“In a recent citywide poll, fifteen percent more residents said that they watch television programs about the visual arts than was the case in a poll conducted five years ago. During these past five years, the number of people visiting our city’s art museums has increased by a similar percentage. Since the corporate funding that supports public television, where most of the visual arts programs appear, is now being threatened with severe cuts, we can expect that attendance at our city’s art museums will also start to decrease. Thus some of the city’s funds for supporting the arts should be reallocated to public television.”

The argument claims that some of the city's funds for supporting the arts should be reallocated to public television citing causal relationship between percentage increase of viewership of television and percentage increase of number of people visiting city's museums. Stated this way the argument fails to mention several key factors on the basis of which it can be evaluated. It also establishes a causal relationship between two events without providing enough evidence for doing so. The conclusion of the argument relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. Hence, the argument is weak and has several flaws.

Firstly, the argument assumes that since the corporate funding that supports public television is being threatened, the percentage of residents who watch television programs about visual arts will decrease. However, no supporting evidence has been provided to evaluate the assumption. Reduction in corportate funding would only decrease the viewership of programs about visual arts either if one or more of the programs were to be cancelled or if the quality of those programs decreased drastically to drive the viewers away. Neither of the two conditions have to necessarily be true. The reduction in funding might not even affect the programs about visual arts. For example if most of the reduction in funding was in another area of television where viewership has been steadily declining without affecting other areas, then there would be no affect of reduction of funding on viewership of the programs about visual arts.

Secondly, the argument assumes a causal relationship between the increase or decrease in viewers of a television program and the increase or decrease in people visiting the museum. The argument fails to consider that the two events are not related to one another, but on the contrary are correlated. It is possible that if there is a decrease in viewership of television programs, then the number of people who visit art museums will increase. The enthusiasm of people in visual arts, according to the argument, is because of television programs. On the other hand, it is also possible that residents of the city started watching television programs related to visual arts after they first visited the museum. Surely, in that case, the statement does not hold true.

In conclusion, the argument provided is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons. The argument can be strengthened if the author provides evidence for the purported relationship between the television program viewership and art museum visitors. Furthermore, the argument needs to provide evidence for the assumption that decrease in the funding for television will in fact decrease the viewership of the programs or affect number of people going to the museum in any way.