The following appeared in an article in the Grandview Beacon.

"For many years the city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. The symphony has also announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. Given such developments, some city commissioners argue that the symphony can now be fully self-supporting, and they recommend that funding for the symphony be eliminated from next year's budget."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author states that due to recent increment in the private contributions to the Grandview symphony, it is a prudent decision to cancel public funding because the symphony can make a profit on its own.This argument may seem convincing when give a cursory thought, but it engages in several logical fallacies and unsound reasoning.

First,it is mentioned that there has been a 200 percent increase in private contributions. but no data are presented about the amount of fundings in the previous years. if it has been near zero, then 200 percent increment would not be a noticeable change. Furthermore, the author correlates higher attendance at concerts with new private fundings. This change could be attributed to many other reasons such as the new change in the new environment of the concert, new musicians and better plays which have encouraged people to attend in the concerts.

Second, how can we say assuredly that higher prices of tickets will lead to higher profits? are people eager to pay more for tickets? The conclusion of the authors would be rendered void if people experience an economic downturn and therefore won’t be able to afford expensive tickets. hence, surveys must be done to examine the eagerness of people to pay more for the tickets.

Third,there is no data presented regarding the government fundings. can we say certainly that removing public funding inflict no damage on the performance of the concert? t may be the case that symphony relies heavily on government funds to pay for the cost of its maintenance, musician salaries and many other performance costs, hence, cancelling the government donations will not only improve the development of the concert but also lead to its bankrupcy. therefore, sufficient data is required to investigate the financial resources of the concert.

In summary, the argument seems to lack seriously in persuasiveness and cogency. sufficient valid data and statistics with regards to financial resources of the concert, its performance and people's opinions is essential for reaching a tenable conclusion.