In the memo, the author concludes that they should adopt interview-centered approach to studying culture. This conclusion relies on several premises such as twenty years ago research by Dr.Field, and recent interview by author. While this assertion could prove true, he should provide three more evidence in order to bolster his argument credibility.

First of all, the author needs to provide evidence regarding observation-based approach. It is possible that twenty years ago, Dr.field had not made mistake, on the other hand, the situation has changed. In this case, parents tend to leave their children as they engage with everyday task, and limited time for taking care of them. This could not be arisen because of observation method solely. Even if, he did make mistake, it could be due to negligent or other minor factors, and it is not rational to question this method because of one researcher’s fault. Therefore, the author should consider other results of the same approach in studying of cultures.

Secondly, the author should provide more information regards subjects of children’s talks. It might be possible that children were complaining about their parents who left them with the strangers. They were furious as their parents leave nothing for them, and they were suffering from miserable life with even worst childhood memories. In addition, they could talk about their wishes to see their biological parents, or even the desire characteristics of their parents. In this situation, they wanted to attract sympathy from others in the hope of helping them to find their real parents. In both cases, while they were talking about their parents, not other adults, this could not mean that they had lived with them.

Finally, the author should provide evidence regarding the interview-centered method. It might be possible that children do not understand the question, as they are not mature yet, and tend to answer because of getting reward, like a candy. Moreover, it is possible that the island’s authorities’ persuasive children to lie in order not to reveal some unethical actions behind the scene. They could do it to continue abusing children, and forcing them to work hard without considering their ages. Therefore, it is more plausible to announce that they have parents to take care of them, and provide what they needed, like food and shelter. If either case has merit, the author’s conclusion would fall apart.

In conclusion, while the author’s assertion could hold water, he should provide three more evidence regarding other observation-mased approach results, subjects of children talks, and way in which interview-based approach would be conducted, if he wishes to increase his argument’s credibility.