The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Batavia newspaper quot The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago During this same time

In the argument, the editor concludes that the Batavia government should take action in order to ‎regulate the price of milk. This conclusion is based on several premises, such as increasing the number ‎of dairy farms respect ten years ago. While the author's assertion could prove true, the author should ‎answer three questions to strengthen its validity. ‎

Firstly, was the report by the department of agriculture in Batavia conducted scientifically? It could be ‎possible that the survey, which was done ten years ago, was inaccurate due to a lack of efficient ‎technology, which hindered the surveyors from obtaining data accurately. This could also arise from a ‎lack of expertise in this search area and lead to misleading numbers. Furthermore, it might be possible ‎that, even if there are more farms now than before, more are abandoned and no longer have outcomes. ‎If either scenario proves accurate, the author's contention is significantly weakened. ‎

Secondly, is the price of the involved items, which the farmers use, the same as ten years ago? Maybe ‎the augmenting price of livestock food causes the dairy farms to increase the milk price to survive. ‎Moreover, the gas price may have reached its peak in previous years, which could be responsible for ‎increasing the price of packaging. In addition, the transportation cost would have also changed to cope ‎with this issue. In this situation, the farmers had to increase the prices of milk to maintain their profit. ‎The argument does not hold water if each case proves to be the case. ‎

‎ Finally, is the milk price at Excello Food Market representative of milk prices throughout the region? It ‎might be possible that this market is one of the most expensive markets in the whole region, where ‎many ordinary people would not go. There could be many other shops that have maintained the price of ‎milk at 1.50 dollars like before. Additionally, this market could be on an isolated island, which is not ‎accessible by common trucks; therefore, the cargo ships have to take the products, which leads to an ‎increase in the prices. If the above possibilities turn out to be true, the author's conclusion falls apart. ‎

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is flawed due to several unwarranted assumptions. If the ‎author can answer the three stated questions, it will be possible to fully evaluate the proposed ‎recommendation's reliability. ‎