The following appeared as a letter to the editor of a national newspaper Your recent article on corporate downsizing in Elthyria maintains that the majority of competent workers who have lost jobs as a result of downsizing face serious economic hardship o

In the argument, the author concludes that a recent article on corporate downsizing is false. He comes to this conclusion based on a recent report, the unemployment rate, and the number of created jobs. While the author’s assertion could prove true, he should provide three pieces of evidence in order to bolster its credibility.

First of all, the author needs to provide evidence regarding the types of ex-employees occupations. It is possible that most people were working in an office or non-industrial jobs which do not require hard work or skillful people. In this case, even providing abundant jobs in the industry, they remain unemployed as it is incompatible with their skills. Moreover, perhaps most people forced to leave their jobs were students. In this case, many students are not able to work in industries that require years of experience and knowledge. They were working in a bar or restaurant, for instance, as it does not require most of the above criteria. Therefore, if the above examples are true, the author’s conclusion would be considerably hampered.

Secondly, the author should provide more data about how the recent survey was conducted. It could be possible that the conductors were negligent and did not consider many people suffering from a lack of jobs. Furthermore, many employees who have lost their jobs may be forced to leave the city in the hope of finding a suitable job. In this case, the unemployment rate did not include them, which led to the unreliability of this survey. In addition, it could be possible that most workers who lost their jobs were coming from adjacent cities; subsequently, the conductors did not consider them as part of their statistics. The author’s assertion does not hold water if either scenario has merit.

Finally, the author should provide evidence regarding the ex-employees job conditions. It might be possible that most of them had a part-time job, as they are students or disabled persons, and now they are undeployed as the market is full of a full-time jobs. In addition, perhaps most of the workers who lost their jobs were heads of their departments or held high positions in their previous careers. However, now most jobs pay above average, which is not proper for them due to their lifestyle. In this case, they cannot pay their expenses if they choose these available jobs. Even maybe they feel shame to interview for these jobs as they were prominent people such as CEO. Assuming either case is valid, the auth’s conclusion would fall apart.

In conclusion, the author’s claim, as it stands now, is significantly flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. Hence, if the author wants to make the prompt more persuasive, he should provide three pieces of evidence regarding the above possibilities.