The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation- centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the article by Dr. Karp, his interview-centered method is more accurate than the observation-centered method by Dr. Field to understand the child rearing traditions in Tertia. He makes his claim based on the outcomes of his recent interviews with the children from a group of islands. Although the claim sounds fit to the context at a first glance, there are three unwarranted assumptions behind the position of the writer which need to be further examined to accept his recommendation.

To begin, the conclusion of Dr. Field was solely based on the observations from the children of Tertia. However, Dr. Karp reaches to his conclusion after interviewing a group of islands including Tertia. It may be possible that Dr. Field observed all the Tertian children during his experimentation and then made this conclusion. On the other hand, Dr. Karp just interviews a small group of Tertian children along with other children from different islands and assumes that the overall population will follow the same. Nonetheless, if Dr. Karp interviews all the children of Tertia, probably, he will get same findings like Dr. Field. If any of the preceding circumstances becomes true, the argument will hold no water and thus can't be accepted.

Secondly, Dr. Karp assumes that children state the actual facts during the interview. But it may be forged. Perhaps, the biological parents were concerned about the interviews and they taught their children what to say in the interview. Besides, the interviewer may ask those questions which are only related to the children's biological parents. For example, if they are asked "who prepare your food", or "with whom do you sleep at night", they have to give the answers related to their parents. If any of the aforementioned point becomes valid, the recommendation of the author would be seriously weakened.

Finally, Dr. Karp assumes that his interview-centered method can predict cultures of other island groups more accurately. Even if it holds true for the Tertia island, there is no guarantee that similar outcomes can be obtained from other islands as well. The cultural traits of the surrounding island groups may be completely different and parents don't allow their children to respond to the strangers. It also be possible that child rearing culture has long been studied by the anthropologists during the past 20 years and many sophisticated methods have been discovered to understand the culture of different island groups. If any of the above criteria is true, the interview-centered method will no longer be followed.

To conclude, without further explanations of the assumptions that the author made, we can't vie with the conclusion.