The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and

concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the article Dr. Karp proclaimed his interview based methodology superior and marked the observation centered research of Dr. Field as inadequate based on the child rearing culture in an island called Tertia. However, four pieces of evidence are specifically required to make further assessment that Dr. Karp had made.

Before anything else, an important fact is that the nature of people is changing constantly. For example, in our subcontinent, joint families were noticed in a high number just twenty years ago while just after one generation, there are only a few left because of increasing the number of micro families. Similarly, the nature and culture of the Tertia society may change in twenty years, as a result there seems to be contradictions in two studies conducted. So without the evidence of behavioral and cultural changes Dr. Karp can not define his method great and the observation method a flop.

In the second place, the author mentioned that the children who were interviewed are the inhabitants of the island group which includes Tertia but it is not clear that the children are specifically from the Tertia because they may be from other neighboring islands where they are rearing by their biological parents. So without the specific evidence of the residence of the children interviewed, the claim does not hold water.

Another important piece of evidence is needed regarding the questions that were asked during the interview session because the children may answer the questions which were only about their parents, not about the other elders. Based on this unclear method of interview, it’s farcical to claim the interview method as perfect.

Last but not the least, in the area of science, arts and research, it’s common that references from multiple experts are needed to establish a method perfect as well to diminish a method. But in this article there is no evidence regarding any reference of other experts supporting the interview method and bashing the observation method.

In conclusion, Dr. Field may spend many years in Tertia and observing the people closely for such a long time surely had made the better outcome than the interview method of Dr. Karp’s which may only be based on some short time interview guided by the graduate students. Unless the four pieces of evidence aforementioned are presented in a right manner, the proclamation of Dr. Karp is flawed, and on top of that, declaration of the observation method as invalid is utter insolent.