The following appeared in an article written by Dr Karp an anthropologist Twenty years ago Dr Field a noted anthropologist visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rat

Dr. Karp’s conclusion was that their team’s survey approach named “interview-centered method” was valid instead of “observation-centered method”. He drew this conclusion from a question of whether the children in Tertia were reared by an entire village or their own biological parents? But his assumptions were widespread in his research and simultaneously not cogent enough to get the final conclusion.

The first assumption was that the time which children spent talking about parents and villages can essentially revealed the rearing relationships. Talking in another way, children are more familiar with their biological parents which is very common phenomenon. But raising contains other numerous aspects including education, medical expenditure, entertainment expense and so on. For example, if the schools from the primary schools to high schools in this island are all funded by the public tax and children needn’t to pay for their education fees. There is no doubt that this is hidden raising relationship which cannot be reflected in some simple interviews. But if the observation involved the researches in this island’s finances conditions, observation-centered method is more comprehensible and realistic in the end. So, Dr. Karp’s conclusion was dubious.

Also, the second assumption could be that these children told real conditions instead of following these graduate student’s instructions or hints hidden in the interviews. For example, if the interviews were totally subjective so as to get a contradict with Dr. Field’s consequences, questions could be like this: What characteristics do you like in your parents? Compared with other villagers, what do you like in your family? and so on. In a short, these kinds of questions were not objective and hence, these children definitely would talk more about their biological parents. So, to fix this deficit Dr. Karp should expose conversion contents in their interviews and give an objective evaluation. Otherwise, his outcome wouldn’t get accolade.

Next, the third assumption could be that the culture in the group of islands was consistent with that in exact Tertia. Dr. Tarp’s team used a larger scope’s outcomes to study a smaller scope’s behaviors which was disputable. Because, cultures differ even in a small island considering the factors of religions, races, and geographical elements. Perhaps, raising children together was affected by Tertia’s specific religions. So, Dr. Tarp’s team did their researches in other islands and couldn’t depreciate Dr. Field’s research’s outcomes.

Filled with assumptions and a dearth of evidence, Dr. Tarp’s outcomes couldn’t take the place of Dr. Field’s researches. They should articulate their interviews’ content, restrict their samples and combine observations at necessary.