Politicians should pursue common ground and reasonable consensus rather than elusive ideals Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take In dev

It is universally acknowledged that it is electors who choose democratic leaders to decide the country’s heading way. But politicians’ stances are disparate which include conservative liberal or socialistic opinions. Hence, some may base their policies on public common ground or reasonable consensus but some idealists adversely choose elusive ideals. From my point of view, I will embrace those policies which are in accord with commonsense and reasonable consensus.

First, for citizens, those policies can directly bring them welfares. The most impressive example is the Affordable Care Act (ACA) which is enacted by Obama government. The law dwindled the number and percentage of people without health insurance. According to Wikipedia, ACA likely prevented an estimated 50,000 preventable patient deaths from 2010 to 2013. ACA is one of the political promises brought up in Obama’s election campaign which is treated as the solution to America’s medical, tax, insurance affairs and other cores of common interests and public welfares. Egalitarianism reflected by this policy is characterized by belief in equal political economical social and civil rights for all people. Hence, the conclusion from the stance of common people is that politics bellwethers should never breach public expectations and social common ground.

Second, when politicians base their policies on reasonable consensus which means their decisions have to be tested and verified by a cornucopia of connoisseurs. Compared with those pursuing elusive ideals, the authority can make sure those policies are not barren and prelude financial deficits especially in the nowadays period of world economic depression. The most convincing example can the Dubai’s project of Palm Island. Construction effects and repercussions include several large environmental tragedies: a reduction in the area’s aquatic life, erosion of the coastal soil, and irregular sediment transport along the shore. This elusive project has costed 14 billion dollars and as of today, little development has taken place on the islands due to the financial crisis in 2008. Hence, elusive ideals tend to be extremely demanding and end up with a chimera. Only reasonable consensus can be relied on to avoid bungling work and blighting public interests.

I admit that sometimes aspirant idealists and elusive ideals are needed to break bathetic boundaries. But they are essentially in align with common ground and reasonable consensus in that certain era. For example, in Cold War both CCCP and America delved into the expedition of outer space. Numerous projects like Apollo Program are regarded as the most complicated and most dangerous tasks in human history. But when take Cold War and human development cause into consideration, all these tasks should not be treated as delusion or brash decisions. President Kennedy and Congress just based their decision on the common will of people and simultaneously put it in to practice with scientific knowledge which just was reasonable consensus.

In conclusion, in democratic country, the leader is constituted by people and law. Their missions are simplified as tasks to conduct policies according to the will of people. So, common ground and reasonable consensus should be regarded as the only two canons to avoid a series of political blunders.