In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore s ten video rental stores Since we are famous for our special bargains raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits Last mon

Management’s prediction that declining profits could been reverse d by reducing operating hours and reducing stock seems to be rash since there is little evidence that proper research has been conducted. It may be true that profits could be restored by cutting operating costs , but management needs to ask whether making these changes would have a negative impact on its best resources of revenue.

The management states that the downtown Marston store “significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6pm rather than 9pm.” It is reasonable to think that closing at 6pm rather than 9pm would decrease operating expenses, but the business is concerned with renting movies and these may be the busiest and most profitable hours of operation. Could it be that most people renting movies have normal working hours and have leisure time at night and to fill that time they turn to renting movies? If management researches its daily rental history, it may discover that its peak rental hours are between 6pm and 9pm. If this is the case, the store could lose significant income or even go out of business altogether. I management wants to reverse a decline in profits to determine through research which block of time during the day is the least profitable and then cut those hours of operation. For instance, if it is found that profits are lowest during the morning hours and around noon, it would be better to close the store during hours rather than during the hours that bring in the greatest profits.

The management then states that the operating expenses will also be cut “by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago.” Again, more research is needed in order to determine if this would indeed to help reverse the decline in profits that Movies Galore is experiencing. Is it possible that the success of a movie rental business is based on its ability to provide customers with a wide array of movie selections, both now and old? It could be dangerous for this business to eliminate its stock of older movies without first determining the percentages of income that come from each product. Management should research its history of movie rentals in order to determine if a significant percentage of its profits come from the rental or older movies. Even if little profits does come from older movies, it may still be still be unwise to eliminate the stock of older movies. If Movies Galore maintains variety of movies, a person searching for a current movie may decide to rent an older movie as well. This may be especially relevant in the case of a new movie that is a sequal to an older movie or part of trilogy. Reducing movie variety may also damage the reputation of the stores. The management states that Movie Galore already has a “reputation for offering great movies.” If movies variety is suddenly reduced, the stores may gain a negative reputation.

Overall, the management makes a prediction that is untrustworthy and potentially damaging. More research should be conducted to see if indeed such changes to cut operation costs will be effective, and if not, what should be done instead. If the proper investigation is implemented by the management, Movies Galore stores may reverse the recent decline of profits.